Home

International Council for Traditional Music

A Non-Governmental Organization in Formal Consultative Relations with UNESCO

ICTM LOGO

The International Council for Traditional Music is a scholarly organization which aims to further the study, practice, documentation, preservation, and dissemination of traditional music and dance of all countries. To these ends the Council organizes World Conferences, Symposia, and Colloquia, and publishes the Yearbook for Traditional Music and the online Bulletin of the ICTM

As a non-governmental organization in formal consultative relations with UNESCO and by means of its wide international representation and the activities of its Study Groups, the International Council for Traditional Music acts as a bond among peoples of different cultures and thus contributes to the peace of humankind.

Featured event

44th ICTM World Conference

Start: Thursday, 13 July 2017
End: Wednesday, 19 July 2017
Location: Limerick, Ireland

In focus

Submissions to the 44th ICTM World Conference are now open

You are cordially invited to submit a proposal to present at the 44th ICTM World Conference. The conference will take place at the Irish World Academy of Music and Dance, University of Limerick (Limerick, Ireland) from 13 to 19 July 2017. During the...

The April 2016 issue of the Bulletin of the ICTM is available for download

It is my great pleasure to inform you that a new issue of the Bulletin of the ICTM (Volume 131, April 2016) is available for download, directly from the following links:Bulletin of the ICTM Vol. 131 (April 2016), good quality (2....

Upcoming Events

4 Jul 2016: 4th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Multipart Music

Dates: from Monday, 4 July 2016, to Thursday, 7 July 2016
Location: Singapore

4 Jul 2016: 9th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Music and Minorities

Dates: from Monday, 4 July 2016, to Sunday, 10 July 2016
Location: Britanny, France

9 Jul 2016: 29th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Ethnochoreology

Dates: from Saturday, 9 July 2016, to Saturday, 16 July 2016
Location: Retzhof Castle near Graz, Austria

13 Jul 2016: 9th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Music and Gender

Dates: from Wednesday, 13 July 2016, to Saturday, 16 July 2016
Location: Bern, Switzerland

31 Jul 2016: 4th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Performing Arts of Southeast Asia

Dates: from Sunday, 31 July 2016, to Saturday, 6 August 2016
Location: Penang, Malaysia

25 Aug 2016: 5th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Musics of East Asia

Dates: from Thursday, 25 August 2016, to Saturday, 27 August 2016
Location: Taipei, Taiwan

25 Aug 2016: 1st Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Audiovisual Ethnomusicology

Dates: from Thursday, 25 August 2016, to Saturday, 27 August 2016
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

5 Oct 2016: 5th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Applied Ethnomusicology

Dates: from Wednesday, 5 October 2016, to Sunday, 9 October 2016
Location: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

13 Oct 2016: 1st Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Musics of the Slavic World

Dates: from Thursday, 13 October 2016, to Saturday, 15 October 2016
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

20 Oct 2016: 24th ICTM Colloquium

Dates: from Thursday, 20 October 2016, to Sunday, 23 October 2016
Location: Shanghai, China

27 Oct 2016: 14th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Iconography of the Performing Arts

Dates: from Thursday, 27 October 2016, to Monday, 31 October 2016
Location: Xi'an, China

5 Apr 2017: 21st Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Folk Musical Instruments

Dates: from Wednesday, 5 April 2017, to Saturday, 8 April 2017
Location: Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

13 Jul 2017: 44th ICTM World Conference

Dates: from Thursday, 13 July 2017, to Wednesday, 19 July 2017
Location: Limerick, Ireland
Syndicate content