International Council for Traditional Music

A Non-Governmental Organization in Formal Consultative Relations with UNESCO

Home

ICTM LOGO

The International Council for Traditional Music is a scholarly organization which aims to further the study, practice, documentation, preservation, and dissemination of traditional music and dance of all countries. To these ends the Council organizes World Conferences, Symposia, Colloquia, and Fora, and publishes the Yearbook for Traditional Music and the online Bulletin of the ICTM

As a non-governmental organization in formal consultative relations with UNESCO and by means of its wide international representation and the activities of its Study Groups, the International Council for Traditional Music acts as a bond among peoples of different cultures and thus contributes to the peace of humankind.

In focus

Winners of the 2020 ICTM Prizes

The International Council for Traditional Music is pleased to announce the inaugural awards for Best Article, Best Book, and Best Documentary Film or Video. Details on each of the winning submissions are followed by comments from the members of the three subcommittees.

Call for Participation: ICTM Dialogues 2021

Proposals are being accepted to a new series of online events, titled ICTM Dialogues 2021: Towards Decolonization of Music and Dance Studies.

ICTM Statement and Activities in View of Decolonization of Music and Dance Studies

The ICTM Statement and Activities in View of Decolonization of Music and Dance Studies, authored by the ICTM Executive Board, has been published and can be read here

ICTM activities postponed or cancelled due to COVID-19 pandemic

As we all know, COVID-19 continues to affect the global population.

Featured Event

ICTM Dialogues

Start: Friday, 1 January 2021
End: Friday, 31 December 2021
Location: Online

46th ICTM World Conference

Start: Thursday, 21 July 2022
End: Wednesday, 27 July 2022
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Upcoming Events

Inaugural symposium of ICTM Study-Group-in-the-Making on Music and Dance in Indigenous Postcolonial Contexts

Dates: Monday, 30 November 2020 to Thursday, 3 December 2020
Location: Taiwan

27th ICTM Colloquium

Dates: Monday, 28 December 2020 to Wednesday, 30 December 2020
Location: Shanghai, China

ICTM Dialogues

Dates: Friday, 1 January 2021 to Friday, 31 December 2021
Location: Online

6th Symposium of ICTM Study Group on Performing Arts of Southeast Asia

Dates: Saturday, 13 March 2021 to Sunday, 21 March 2021
Location: Bagan, Myanmar

23rd Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Musical Instruments

Dates: Wednesday, 24 March 2021 to Saturday, 27 March 2021
Location: Colombo, Sri Lanka

7th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Music and Dance in Southeastern Europe

Dates: Friday, 23 April 2021 to Sunday, 25 April 2021
Location: Online

1st Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Global History of Music

Dates: Wednesday, 12 May 2021 to Friday, 14 May 2021
Location: Online

31st Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Ethnochoreology

Dates: Monday, 12 July 2021 to Sunday, 18 July 2021
Location: Klaipėda, Lithuania

7th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Music of the Turkic-speaking World

Dates: Monday, 6 September 2021 to Thursday, 9 September 2021
Location: Issyk Kul, Kyrgyzstan

17th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Iconography of the Performing Arts

Dates: Thursday, 7 October 2021 to Saturday, 9 October 2021
Location: Alpiarça, Portugal

Pages