International Council for Traditional Music

A Non-Governmental Organization in Formal Consultative Relations with UNESCO

Home

ICTM LOGO

The International Council for Traditional Music is a scholarly organization which aims to further the study, practice, documentation, preservation, and dissemination of traditional music and dance of all countries. To these ends the Council organizes World Conferences, Symposia, Colloquia, and Fora, and publishes the Yearbook for Traditional Music and the online Bulletin of the ICTM

As a non-governmental organization in formal consultative relations with UNESCO and by means of its wide international representation and the activities of its Study Groups, the International Council for Traditional Music acts as a bond among peoples of different cultures and thus contributes to the peace of humankind.

In focus

The January 2020 issue of the Bulletin of the ICTM is available for download

A new issue of the Bulletin of the ICTM (Volume 142, January 2020) is available for download.

Scammers targeting ICTM members via email

The ICTM Secretariat would like to warn that cybercriminals have been recently targeting ICTM members to try and scam them into sending them money.

Announcement: 46th ICTM World Conference (July 2021, Lisbon, Portugal)

You are cordially invited to attend the 46th ICTM World Conference, which will be hosted between 22 and 28 July 2021 by the Institute of Ethnomusicology - Center for Studies in Music and Dance and the NOVA School of Social Sciences and Humanities, New University of Lisbon (NOVA-FCSH), Lisbon, Portugal.

Upcoming Events

6th Symposium of ICTM Study Group on Performing Arts of Southeast Asia

Dates: Tuesday, 28 July 2020 to Wednesday, 5 August 2020
Location: Bagan, Myanmar

7th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Applied Ethnomusicology

Dates: Wednesday, 26 August 2020 to Saturday, 29 August 2020
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland

7th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Musics of East Asia

Dates: Thursday, 27 August 2020 to Saturday, 29 August 2020
Location: Inner Mongolia, China

7th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Music of the Turkic-speaking World

Dates: Sunday, 6 September 2020 to Wednesday, 9 September 2020
Location: Issyk Kul, Kyrgyzstan

3rd Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Audiovisual Ethnomusicology

Dates: Monday, 21 September 2020 to Wednesday, 23 September 2020
Location: Bologna, Italy

3rd Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on African Musics

Dates: Wednesday, 23 September 2020 to Saturday, 26 September 2020
Location: Maputo, Mozambique

1st Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Sound, Movement and the Sciences

Dates: Friday, 25 September 2020 to Sunday, 27 September 2020
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

17th Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Iconography of the Performing Arts

Dates: Thursday, 15 October 2020 to Saturday, 17 October 2020
Location: Alpiarça, Portugal

3rd Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Music and Dance of the Slavic World

Dates: Friday, 16 October 2020 to Monday, 19 October 2020
Location: Poznań, Poland

1st Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Global History of Music

Dates: Monday, 16 November 2020 to Wednesday, 18 November 2020
Location: Chengdu, China

Pages