International Council for Traditional Music

A Non-Governmental Organization in Formal Consultative Relations with UNESCO

ICTM Study Group on Indigenous Music and Dance

Mission Statement 

The ICTM Study Group for Local and Indigenous Music and Dance aims to deepen understanding and awareness of music and dance within local and indigenous cultures around the world. Our meetings and publications welcome participants from a wide variety of backgrounds, including traditional performers and educators. We are committed to ethical research collaborations that benefit local and indigenous communities and support local and indigenous performers and educators to maintain their music-and-dance knowledge and practices. 

Study Group Committee 

  • Chair: Marcia Langton 
  • Vice Chair: Muriel Swijghuisen Reigersberg 
  • Secretary: Anthea Skinner, Shuo Niki Yang, Xinjie Chen 

Advisory, Non-Executive Board of Directors

  • Yuh-Fen Tseng
  • Syaman Vonganyan (Chien-Ping Kuo)
  • Akawyan Pakawyan
  • Tasaw Watan
  • José Jorge Carvalho
  • Aaron Corn
  • Made Mantle Hood
  • Klisala Harrision
  • Mark van Tongeren 




Public - accessible to all site users

There is no content in this group.